Article
11 comments

Utiliser Hotmail avec Microsoft Entourage ou Apple Mail

entourage

L’article suivant qui décrit comment l’installation de Windows Live Hotmail sur votre Mac, Microsoft Entourage l’appli de messagerie coté client, a été prise à partir d’une page Web sur le site Web de Microsoft. La méthode décrite peut également être appliquée à Mail.app d’Apple pour l’utilisation de Hotmail dans Mail sur Mac OS X (testé uniquement sur Leopard à la date de cette écriture). Sinon, vous pouvez télécharger et exécuter une petite application utilitaire appelé Mail Setup (Configuration de la messagerie) qui est censé fonctionner aussi bien sur PPC et Mac Intel – Ce programme peut paramétrer des comptes e-mail majeurs pour vous, y compris mais non limité à MSN Hotmail, Yahoo! Mail, AOL / AIM Mail, Gmail, etc

Windows Live Hotmail

Comptes Windows Live Hotmail, y compris les comptes gratuits, peuvent désormais être paramétrés dans Microsoft Entourage comme POPA qui est un type commun sur Internet, de compte de messagerie. Windows Live Hotmail et Yahoo! Mail par exemple. Après avoir ajouté un compte POP à Entourage, les messages provenant du compte d’apparaître dans la liste des dossiers sous sur le Poste de Travail.

Important

Tous les comptes Windows Live Hotmail doit être paramétrés dans Entourage comme POPA type commun sur Internet, de compte de messagerie. Les exemples sont Windows Live Hotmail et Yahoo! Mail. Après avoir ajouté un compte POP à Entourage, les messages provenant du compte d’apparaître dans la liste des dossiers sous sur mon ordinateur. Pour le paramétrage d’un compte, suivez toutes les instructions dans les sections suivantes (vous ne pouvez pas utiliser l’Assistant Configuration du compte Entourage pour Hotmail).

[Read more]

Article
0 comment

5 Applications pour Lire les fichiers CHM sur Mac

Désolé, cet article est actuellement seulement disponible en Anglais Américain et Turc. Sa traduction en Français est cependant en cours. Veuillez revenir à cette page bientôt! Pour le confort de l’utilisateur, le contenu est affiché ci-dessous dans la langue par défaut du site. Vous pouvez cliquer l’un des liens pour changer la langue du site en une autre langue disponible.

CHM stands for Compiled HTML, and it’s used by Microsoft Windows for help files, documentation, magazines and eBooks.
There are a lot of eBooks – some Mac-related – in .chm format while Mac OS X does not come with any built-in .chm viewer.

There are some 3rd party CHM file viewers for the Mac, though, and some of them are absolutely free:
[Read more]

Article
2 comments

Lire DivX et n’importe quel type de Vidéo sur votre Mac

Cette page comporte tout le logiciel essentiel que vous devez installer sur votre Mac à vous permettre de jouer tous les formats principals de vidéo tels que DivX, XviD, Windows Media (wmv), mkv, flv, etc.

Les Composants Flip4Mac WMV pour QuickTime

Flip4Mac WMV ComponentsLes composants de Flip4Mac WMV permettent à vous d’importer, exporter et jouer des vidéos en format  Windows Media (wmv) et fichiers sonores (p.e. wma) sur votre Mac. Les “plug-in”s Flip4Mac WMV peuvent être utilisées avec la plupart des applications basées sur QuickTime, y compris le Lecteur de QuickTime (QuickTime Player), iMovie ’06, Final Cut Pro et plus.

Optimalisé pour le playback à haute définition

“Windows Media® Components for QuickTime” a été fortement optimalisé pour des ordinateurs PowerMac G4 et G5 également Macs Intel et supporte le playback des fichiers vidéos à haute définition de Windows Media.

Mettre à-jour aux fonctions avancées

Le Playback de Windows Media est gratuit. En achetant une mise à-jour directement de Flip4Mac, vous pouvez importer des fichiers de Windows Media pour édition et créer des fichiers de Windows Media pour la distribution. Pour en savoir plus, visitez le site web Flip4Mac.

Pré-requis techniques

  • Mac OS X version 10.3.9 ou superieure
  • QuickTime version 7.0 ou superieure (7.1.6 ou superieure conseillée)

Téléchargement: Windows Media Components for QuickTime by Flip4Mac (354 téléchargements)

Perian

PerianPerian est un “plugin”  “open-source” (source ouverte) qui permet le logiciel QuickTime de jouer des format vidéo nombreaux qui ne sont normalement pas (nativement) supporté par QuickTime sur Mac OS X. Il est principalement basé sur le projét FFmpeg comme il se sert de libavcodec et libavformat. Il se sert aussi de liba52 et libmatroska.
Perian aims at providing a single package to provide all your playback needs. It is a collection of QuickTime components incorporating several libraries:

  • libavcodec, from the ffmpeg project, along with code from the old FFusion component:
  • MS-MPEG4 v1 & v2
  • DivX
  • 3ivX
  • H.264
  • FLV1
  • FSV1
  • VP6
  • H263I
  • VP3
  • HuffYUV
  • ffvhuff
  • MPEG-1 & 2 video
  • FRAPS
  • Windows Media Audio v1 & v2
  • Flash ADPCM
  • Xiph Vorbis (in Matroska)
  • MPEG Layer II Audio
  • libavformat, from the ffmpeg project. along with AVIImporter.component:
  • AVI file format
  • FLV file format
  • libmatroska, along with matroska-qt.component:
  • MKV file format
  • Subtitle parsing
  • SSA
  • SRT
  • liba52, via A52Codec
  • AC3 audio

Téléchargement: Perian (268 téléchargements) VLC Media Player Box

VLC Media Player

VLC media player est un logiciel libre doté d’une multitude de fonctions relatives à la lecture de documents audiovisuels. Logiciel gratuit, unique et original, VLC media player est un véritable couteau suisse du multimedia, utilisable par tous grâce à une interface simple et facile.

Les possibilités et les avantages offerts par le logiciel libre VLC media player sont très nombreux. L’originalité du lecteur VLC peut se résumer par :

  • la lecture audio, video, TV, dans la plupart des formats connus (MPEG-4, Flash video (.flv), MPEG-2, H.264, DivX, MPEG-1, mp3, ogg, et AAC, ainsi que DVDs, Audio CDs VCDs)
  • le fonctionnement immédiat grâce à sa technologie de codecs intégrés
  • son adaptation à toutes les plateformes OS: Windows, Mac-OS, BeOs, Unix dont la plupart des distributions linux
  • des fonctions de serveur multimedia (streaming)

La version Mac OS X est téléchargeable par le lien suivant : VLC Media Player for Mac OS X (universal binary) (217 téléchargements) (28 MB)

Site web francophone du projét et téléchargements pour des autres plate-formes (systèmes d’exploitation) tels que Windows et Linux est accessible depuis ici. La version anglaise du site web est .

Article
14 comments

Pouvoir écrire sur les disques NTFS sur le Mac

MacFuse

Vous pouvez désormais avoir la capacité d’écrire sur / modifier les volumes NTFS dans Mac OS X grace à MacFUSE de Google Code et NTFS-3G de Erik Larsson. MacFUSE vous permet d’élargir les capacités actuels de gestion des fichiers de Mac OS X par l’intermédiaire des systèmes de fichiers «3rd-party». Comme un utilisateur normal, l’installation du progiciel de MacFUSE vous laissera utiliser n’importe quel système de fichiers 3rd-party écrit sur MacFUSE, tel que NTFS-3G d’Erik Larsson qui permet de lire non seulement des volumes de NTFS, mais aussi les écrire et modifier sur Mac OS X. Afin d’avoir la fonctionnalité MacFUSE et NTFS-3G doit respectivement être installé sur votre Mac (et que le système soit redémarré après chaque installation respective). Vous pouvez télécharger MacFUSE à partir de l’adresse suivante : https://code.google.com/p/macfuse/ ou bien la séction cross-platform utilities de OzarWEB downloads.

[Read more]

Article
11 comments

Start Using Hotmail with Microsoft Entourage or Apple Mail

entourage

The following article which describes how to setup Windows Live Hotmail account on your Mac’s Microsoft Entourage e-mail client app, was taken from a web page on Microsoft’s web site. The method described can also be applied to Apple‘s Mail.app to use Hotmail from within Mail on Mac OS X (tested only on Leopard at the date of this writing). Alternatively you can download and run a small utility app called Mail Setup which is claimed to run on both PPC and Intel Macs – this program can setup most e-mail accounts for you including but not limited to MSN Hotmail, Yahoo! Mail, AOL / AIM Mail, Gmail, etc.

Windows Live HotmailWindows Live Hotmail accounts, including free accounts, can now be set up in Entourage as POPA common type of Internet-based mail account. Examples are Windows Live Hotmail and Yahoo! Mail. After you add a POP account to Entourage, messages from the account appear in the folder list under On My Computer.

Important
All Windows Live Hotmail accounts must be set up in Entourage as POPA common type of Internet-based mail account. Examples are Windows Live Hotmail and Yahoo! Mail. After you add a POP account to Entourage, messages from the account appear in the folder list under On My Computer. To set up an account, follow all the instructions in the following sections (you cannot use the Entourage Account Setup Assistant for Hotmail setup).
[Read more]

Article
0 comment

5 CHM viewers for the Mac

CHM stands for Compiled HTML, and it’s used by Microsoft Windows for help files, documentation, magazines and eBooks.
There are a lot of eBooks – some Mac-related – in .chm format while Mac OS X does not come with any built-in .chm viewer.

There are some 3rd party CHM file viewers for the Mac, though, and some of them are absolutely free:
[Read more]

Article
2 comments

Play DivX and Whatever Video format on Your Mac

This page features all the essential software you need to install on your Mac enabling you to play all major video formats including DivX, XviD, Windows Media Format (wmv), mkv, flv, etc.

Flip4Mac WMV Components for QuickTime

Flip4Mac WMV ComponentsFlip4Mac WMV Components allow you to import, export and play Windows Media video and audio files on your Mac. Flip4Mac WMV plug-ins can be used with most QuickTime based applications, including QuickTime Player, iMovie ’06, Final Cut Pro and more.

Optimized for High-Definition Playback

Windows Media® Components for QuickTime has been highly optimized for Power Mac G4 and G5 and Intel computers and supports playback of high-definition Windows Media video files.

Upgrade to Advanced Features

Windows Media playback is provided free of charge. By purchasing an upgrade directly from Flip4Mac, you can import Windows Media files for editing and create Windows Media files for distribution. To learn more about these advanced features, visit the Flip4Mac Web site.

System Requirements

  • Mac OS X version 10.3.9 or later
  • QuickTime version 7.0 or later (7.1.6 or higher recommended)

Download Link: Windows Media Components for QuickTime by Flip4Mac (355 downloads)

Perian

PerianPerian is an open source plug-in which enables QuickTime to play several popular video formats not supported natively by QuickTime on Mac OS X. It is largely based on the FFmpeg project, as it uses libavcodec and libavformat. It also uses liba52 and libmatroska.
Perian aims at providing a single package to provide all your playback needs. It is a collection of QuickTime components incorporating several libraries:

  • libavcodec, from the ffmpeg project, along with code from the old FFusion component:
  • MS-MPEG4 v1 & v2
  • DivX
  • 3ivX
  • H.264
  • FLV1
  • FSV1
  • VP6
  • H263I
  • VP3
  • HuffYUV
  • ffvhuff
  • MPEG-1 & 2 video
  • FRAPS
  • Windows Media Audio v1 & v2
  • Flash ADPCM
  • Xiph Vorbis (in Matroska)
  • MPEG Layer II Audio
  • libavformat, from the ffmpeg project. along with AVIImporter.component:
  • AVI file format
  • FLV file format
  • libmatroska, along with matroska-qt.component:
  • MKV file format
  • Subtitle parsing
  • SSA
  • SRT
  • liba52, via A52Codec
  • AC3 audio

Download Link: Perian (268 downloads)

VLC Media Player Box

VLC Media Player

VLC Media Player is the ultimate cross-platform software, yet open-source and free, which enables playing of all major video and audio formats including MPEG-4, Flash video (.flv), MPEG-2,  H.264, DivX, MPEG-1, mp3, ogg, and AAC, as well as DVDs, Audio CDs VCDs, and various streaming protocols.

It also can be used as a streming video server as well as a video format conversion utility.

Mac OS X version can be downloaded from the following link: VLC Media Player for Mac OS X (universal binary) (218 downloads) (28 MB)

The Project’s web site featuring more info and downloads for other platforms such as Windows and Linux can be reached from here.

Article
14 comments

Ability to write to NTFS volumes on the Mac

MacFuse

Thanks for visiting this – well, sort of – ancient page. As the rules of the game of enabling writing on NTFS on the Mac has dramatically changed over the past years, I published a new article titled How to both WRITE to and read from PC [NTFS] Drives on macOS which you might rather read here. If knowing how people used to write to NTFS volumes on the Mac more than 10 years ago is still interesting to you, then feel free to read on.

You can add the possibility to write / modify NTFS files on Mac OS X now thanks to MacFUSE from Google Code and NTFS-3G from Erik Larsson. MacFUSE allows you to extend Mac OS X’s native file handling capabilities via 3rd-party file systems. As a normal user, installing the MacFUSE software package will let you use any 3rd-party file system written on top of  MacFUSE, such as NTFS-3G from Erik Larsson which will allow you to not only read NTFS volumes, but also give you the ability to write (finally) to NTFS volumes. In order to have the functionality MacFUSE and NTFS-3G must respectively be installed on your Mac (and the system be rebooted after respective installation). MacFUSE can be downloaded from the following address: https://code.google.com/p/macfuse/ or the cross-platform utilities section of OzarWEB downloads.

[Read more]